Merry Christmas

As some of you may know, I am not a Christian though I was raised that way. However, I do choose to celebrate Christmas for a couple of reasons. One is merely the tradition and the opportunity to give thanks to loved ones. But the more important reason is to think deeply about the teachings of Jesus, especially as they relate to the hungry, poor and needy.

It would be impossible to read the Bible and not realize that, above all else, Jesus taught us to care for one another. The Canonical Gospels, particularly Luke, are filled with admonitions to care for the poor, sick and needy. And Jesus also says that following the first two commandments of the Decalogue fulfills all the others. To those who may have forgotten, the second is, “you shall love thy neighbor as thyself.”

It is my hope that you will reflect on Christ’s teachings. Consider what they mean and how you can better walk with Christ. I bid you all a very Merry Christmas.

“For I was hungry, and you gave me something to eat; I was thirsty, and you gave me something to drink; I was a stranger, and you took me in; I was sick and you took care of me, I was in prison and you visited me…I tell you whenever you do these things for the least important of these followers of mine, you did it for me.”      — Matthew 25:35-40

Leave a Reply

